GSO Test

Governing Body

General Information

The Portesbery School Governing Body comprises twelve Governors, made up of six Co-opted Governors, three Parent Governors, one Local Authority Governor and one Staff Governor and the Headteacher, who is a governor by virtue of his position.

The term of office for all Governors other than the Headteacher is 4 years, although a Governor may choose to resign prior to the end of her or his term.  Parent and Staff Governors are appointed by election.  The Governing Body appoints Co-opted Governors.  The Local Authority governor nominated by the school and is ratified by the County Councillor for the ward in which the school is located.

Governors are able to resign from their position by providing written notice to the Clerk to Governors. The Governing Body also has the right to remove a Governor if she or he has not attended meetings of the Governing Body for a period of 6 months without the agreement of the other governors, and the Governing Body resolves that the position is to be vacated.

The Full Governing Body meets at least once each term, usually towards the end of each term.  Major parts of the work of the Governing Body are dealt with in Committees.  The two chief Committees are the Children and Learning Committee and the Resources Committee.  These meet earlier in the term, before the Full Governing Body.  The Terms of Reference of these two Committees are shown below.  Other Committees are the Pay Committee and the Headteacher’s Performance Review Committee.

Current Vacancies



Governors at Portesbery School are as follows:

Parent Governors:   Term of Office: from  to
Mr Patrick Dawson (Vice Chair)  01-Jan-2018  31-Dec-2021
Mr Jonathan Spink (Chair) 24-Nov-2017  23-Nov-2021
Co-opted Governors:    
Mrs Margaret Dean 01-Mar-2019  28-Feb-2023
Mrs Susan Thelton 04-Apr-2019 03-Apr-2023
Mrs Debbie Andrews 04-Jul-2019 03-Jul-2023
Mr Chris Hamilton 02-Dec-2020 01-Dec-2024
Staff Governors:    
Mr Nathan Aspinall 18-Apr-2017 open-ended
Mrs Tracey Haigh 01-Jul-2017 30-Jun-2021
Local Authority Governor:    
Mr Morgan Rise 10-Mar-2021   09-Mar-2025
Associate Members:
Mrs Debbie Attard 01-Feb-2010 open-ended
Mrs Clare Walker 01-Apr-2018 open-ended
Clerk to the Governors    
Mrs Rachael Maxwell 01-Sep-2020 open-ended
Contact the clerk via the school office or email:

The Clerk to the Governors is not a governor, but attends meetings to take minutes and to act on governors’ instructions.  Persons wishing to make contact with the Governing Body should do so through the Clerk in the first instance.


The structure of the Governing Body

The Chair of the Governing Body is Mr Jonathan Spink, who can be contacted via email at .

Full Governing Body
Mr Jonathan Spink (Chair) 
Mr Patrick Dawson (Vice-Chair)
Children and Learning Committee  Resources Committee
Mrs Debbie Andrews (Chair) Mr Patrick Dawson (Chair)
Mrs Tracey Haigh
Mr Jonathan Spink
Mrs Margaret Dean
Mr Chris Hamilton
Mrs Susan Thelton Mr Nathan Aspinall (HT)
Mr Nathan Aspinall (HT) Mrs Debbie Attard *
Mrs Clare Walker *

* Associate members do not have voting rights on any of the committees to which they have been appointed.


Governors who have served at any point over the past 12 months but who have stepped down during that period:
Mr Simon Fellows
Mr Hudson Holt
Mrs Jane Vaughan
Brig Stephen Shirley

Register of business and pecuniary interests and attendance record at governing body and committee meetings over the last academic year.

Governor name Pecuniary/other interests Attendance
Mr Nathan Aspinall Headteacher at school, otherwise none 9/9
Mrs Debbie Andrews Trustee at Kite Academy Trust 7/7
Mrs Susan Thelton Horsell Common Preservation Society 7/7
Mr Patrick Dawson Employed at West Hill Golf Club 6/7
Mrs Margaret Dean None 6/7
Mrs Tracey Haigh Teacher at school, otherwise none 5/7
Mr Chris Hamilton -Chair of Residents Association (Bagshot Matters)
-Carwarden School - Governor
-High Close School - Governor
-Wild RIdings School - Governor
Mr Morgan Rise -Surrey Heath Borough Council (Councillor)
-Surrey Heath Arts Council
-Frimley Fuel Allotments Charity
Mr Jonathan Spink Trustee at Lightwater Country Park 9/9
Mrs Debbie Attard -Business Manager at school
-Partner has self-employed building business
Mrs Clare Walker Deputy Headteacher at school, otherwise none 5/9

Attendance at governing body meetings is a major, but not the only, part of the input of governors.  Other governor commitments not listed on the tabulation include governor visits and learning walks, and informal consultations with staff on, e.g, finance-related matters.

Governor Meetings 

Meetings of Portesbery School’s Governing Body are for Governing Body members only. If interested parties wish to attend one of the meetings, arrangements can be made in advance by contacting the Chair of Governors.

Full Governing Body Board Meeting 17 Sep 2020 (5.00pm)
Children & Learning Committee Meeting 11 Nov 2020 (2.30pm)
Resources Committee Meeting 25 Nov 2020 (2.30pm)
Full Governing Body Board Meeting 02 Dec 2020 (2.30pm)
Joint Resources and Children & Learning Committee Meeting 03 Feb 2021 (2.30pm)
Full Governing Body Board Meeting 10 Mar 2021 (2.30pm)
Resources Meeting (Budget Approval) 21 Apr 2021 (2.30pm)
Children & Learning Committee Meeting 12 May 2021 (2.30pm)
Resources Committee Meeting 16 Jun 2021 (2.30pm)
Full Governing Body Board Meeting 30 Jun 2021 (2.30pm)


Links to further information: